The Oregon state widely known for its wild west past is not just restricted to its quirky traditions. Oregon is a budding hub for modern millennials and fashionistas. Planning to start a beauty career in Oregon can be your next best option. To start your career in Oregon this article will pave your way to ace the Oregon State Board of Cosmetology. Here, we’ll present a step-by-step guide for the Oregon State Board of Cosmetology Exam.
To add a cherry on top, you will also get a free cosmetology practice test by the end to help you ace your real exam.
Go straight to the practice test
Table of Contents:
- 1 Steps Involved in Oregon State Board of Cosmetology Exam
- 2 Frequently Asked Questions About the Oregon Cosmetology Exams
- 2.1 HOW DO I APPLY FOR THE OREGON BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY EXAMINATIONS?
- 2.2 I CAN’T MAKE THE DATE/TIME OF MY EXAMINATION. WHAT SHOULD I DO?
- 2.3 WHERE DO THE EXAMINATIONS TAKE PLACE?
- 2.4 WHAT IS THE MINIMUM NUMBER OF HOURS I NEED TO COMPLETE TO APPEAR FOR THE COSMETOLOGY EXAM?
- 2.5 CAN I TAKE THE STATE BOARD EXAMINATIONS BEFORE I’VE COMPLETED THE REQUIRED HOURS?
- 2.6 HOW LONG IS THE COSMETOLOGY WRITTEN EXAMINATION?
- 2.7 WHAT’S THE FORMAT OF THE PRACTICAL EXAMINATION?
- 2.8 WHAT SCORES DO I NEED TO PASS THE WRITTEN COSMETOLOGY EXAM?
- 2.9 HOW DO I TRANSFER MY COSMETOLOGY LICENSE TO OREGON?
- 2.10 HOW DO I RENEW MY COSMETOLOGY LICENSE IN OREGON?
- 2.11 HOW CAN I PREPARE FOR THE OREGON STATE COSMETOLOGY EXAM?
- 3 Oregon Cosmetology State Board Exam Practice Test
Steps Involved in Oregon State Board of Cosmetology Exam
The first step of every exam process is to check your eligibility. After you’ve checked all of the eligibility boxes, you can register and apply for the exam.
The process of registration, exam schedule, and the actual exam can be daunting. To smoothen the whole process for you, I will go through each step. I will walk you through each step to help you complete all the processes of the Oregon State Board of Cosmetology Exam.
STEP 1: VERIFY YOUR ELIGIBILITY
As I mentioned earlier the first step is to check your eligibility for the Oregon Cosmetology State Exam. In Oregon under the Board of Cosmetology you can apply for the following licensure:
- Hair Design
- Natural Haircare
- Nail Technologist
To be eligible for the Oregon State Cosmetology Exam, you must complete your High Education Coordinating Commission’s Private Career Schools Licensing Unit. Along with that, you must complete the minimum number of practical hours required by the Oregon Cosmetology Board. The minimum number of practical hours are:
- Esthetician: 444 hours, 220 practical operations.
- Barbering: 746 hours, 465 practical operations
- Hair Design: 1,100 hours, 455 practical operation
- Nail Technician: 241 hours, 70 practical operation
- Natural Haircare: Completed natural hair care training module
- Cosmetologist: 2300 hours
For every specialization along with the minimum number of practical hours, you also have to complete:
- 20 hours of Oregon Laws and Rules
- 20 hours of Career Development
STEP 2: APPLY for the OREGON STATE BOARD of COSMETOLOGY EXAMINATION
Once you meet the eligibility for the particular profession, you can fill out the application form for the exam. You can fill out the application form for the written and practical exams here.
For more details on Oregon Cosmetology Board, you can contact Oregon Health Licensing Agency:
Address: Oregon Health Licensing Agency 1430 Tandem Ave NE, Suite 180 Salem, OR 97301
Email: [email protected]
STEP 3: PAY YOUR EXAM FEES
The total exam fee for the Oregon State Cosmetology Exam is $95-$105.
- $30 is the FOP (field of practice)
- $35 for the Oregon Laws and Rules exam
- $20 is the individual license exam
- $10 is the service fee.
The exam fee for written FOP is $45.
STEP 4: ON THE EXAMINATION DAY
On the day of the exam, follow the below instructions to make it a hassle-free experience.
- Prepare well ahead for the examination
- Check the timings for the written and practical examination
- Arrive at the venue as early as possible
- In case you wish to take two practical exams, you should note that the office closes by 4:30 PM
- As mentioned earlier, bring government-issued Identity proofs.
STEP 5: TAKE THE EXAM
Now that you have arrived at the venue, let’s focus on the exam now.
- The exam will be for the duration of 90 mins.
- In case you are taking two exams, calculate the time you would require for them (90 mins + 90 mins)
- The written exam will be split into below sections with marks assigned to each.
- Facility Standards
- Practice Standards
- Facility Operations
- Licensing and Certification
- The examination requires a passing mark of a minimum of 75%.
Step 6: GET YOUR RESULTS
Finally! Done with the exams? Only the results are pending. Here in Oregon, the results are published pretty quickly. So quick that you will get it the same day as your exam.
Once you receive your results, you can go ahead and collect your license.
Step 8: RECEIVE YOUR COSMETOLOGY LICENSE
Yet another pleasant surprise here: you get the certification on the same day of the exam as well. Once the results are out, you will be given the certification.
Frequently Asked Questions About the Oregon Cosmetology Exams
HOW DO I APPLY FOR THE OREGON BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY EXAMINATIONS?
Applications for the Oregon Board of Cosmetology can be made on the Oregon Health Authority website since the board of cosmetology is controlled by the same.
I CAN’T MAKE THE DATE/TIME OF MY EXAMINATION. WHAT SHOULD I DO?
In case you can’t make it for the exam, contact the HLO (Health Licensing Office) and reschedule the exams. You can choose your slot as per the appointment schedule.
WHERE DO THE EXAMINATIONS TAKE PLACE?
The Practical exam takes place at the Oregon Health Licensing Office (HLO) located at 1430 Tandem Ave NE #180, Salem, OR 97301. You need to apply and appear for the test at the prescribed time.
WHAT IS THE MINIMUM NUMBER OF HOURS I NEED TO COMPLETE TO APPEAR FOR THE COSMETOLOGY EXAM?
You need to have completed a minimum of 2300 hours of study for appearing in the exams.
CAN I TAKE THE STATE BOARD EXAMINATIONS BEFORE I’VE COMPLETED THE REQUIRED HOURS?
No, the state requires you to complete the prescribed number of hours before applying for a cosmetology exam.
HOW LONG IS THE COSMETOLOGY WRITTEN EXAMINATION?
The duration of the written examination is 90 minutes with multiple sections.
WHAT’S THE FORMAT OF THE PRACTICAL EXAMINATION?
To attend the practical examination, you need to visit the Health Licensing Office (HLO) after making an appointment. The schedules are pretty tight though. Make sure you arrive early before 9 AM.
WHAT SCORES DO I NEED TO PASS THE WRITTEN COSMETOLOGY EXAM?
The minimum mark required for the written exam is 75%.
HOW DO I TRANSFER MY COSMETOLOGY LICENSE TO OREGON?
To transfer your cosmetology license to Oregon, you need to apply for reciprocity after making sure you meet the required number of hours. The cost of this is $100. There will be exams which you will need to clear.
HOW DO I RENEW MY COSMETOLOGY LICENSE IN OREGON?
Renewing a cosmetology license in Oregon can be done online. But if you have any criminal proceedings or pending lawsuits against you, applying online will not be applicable to you.
HOW CAN I PREPARE FOR THE OREGON STATE COSMETOLOGY EXAM?
To help you prepare for the Oregon State Cosmetology Exam start practicing our free CPT practice papers. The practice papers have real questions from the past year’s exams to help you in the best possible way.
Oregon Cosmetology State Board Exam Practice Test
"*" indicates required fields